Tags

, , ,

Thanks to Madison Woods, here is another opportunity for the Friday Fictioneers to bring out their best in the fun-filled 100 words short story, based on Madison’s flash photo prompt.  (This time, I tried in vain to get the 100 words exactly; this is 101 words. Sorry, Madison). I was also inspired by the film Escape From Sobibor, based on the Jewish uprising and mass escape from the extermination camp at Sobibor, the most successful uprising by Jewish prisoners of German extermination camps. So, here we go, have fun.

Sobibor

‘Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.’ The words reverberate in my mind as I sit in the pew, and I flinch at the memory that this particular line always evoke; evil, raw and primitive, abhorrent and vile as the perpetrator.

 I can see him behind the barbed wire, ugly, the scar running from his forehead to his chin, creating a hideous appendage to a cruel visage that causes ripples of horror through me.

Indeed, despite the assurance, I fear the evil that is Herr Manning, Oberlieutenant, of Sobibor

