Tags

, , ,

Another wonderful Friday is here and as we say in Ghana, (and elsewhere I believe) thank God it is Friday. The Fictioneers are busy today, taking their cue from Madison Woods’ photo prompt for a 100 words story this week, a rainbow. I am sure members are going to come out with lovely and lightly toned themes, judging from the beautiful photo below. Mine is a bit off course, though, but tightly packed with salient themes. I do hope you enjoy it. So, here we go:

Sinking Low

The children came home from school with long faces, their stomachs rumbling with hunger. They had been sent home for school fees. I couldn’t look them in the face; I have failed them, just as my employer failed me, refusing to pay me my wages for the month because I led the strike action.

Since the strike, my wife refuses to talk to me; she says I should have thought of the children before doing something so foolhardy. She says I am irresponsible.

This morning, Rainbow, my landlord stormed in with the quit order. How low can a man sink?

