Tags

,

Flashback on May

So soon June is here and with it the rains, at least in Ghana. May was quite hectic for me, though my reading and review was lack-lustre.

Friday Fictioneers. Still busy with the  Friday Fictioneers, the 100 words short story every Friday based on a photo prompt from Madison Woods and loving every minute of it. Like I said last month, it’s hectic but I am not going to quit this in a hurry.

Guest Blogger I was thrilled to be a guest on Madison Woods blog, where she interviewed me on polygamy and love among other themes, running in female writings in Ghana. Do visit http://madisonwoods.wordpress.com/2012/05/15/tuesdays-guest-celeste-nudana/ if you haven’t done so already to read about the interview.

Playing at Poetry. I wrote six poems, My Adonis, African Iceberg, Lethal Chemistry and Hallucination as part of my Reflections from the Heart series; Praying Mantis and Lost Without You were written for Friday Fictioneers

Book Reviews. For my May resolution, I promised to review the two books I read, catch up on my reading and reviewing for the challenges, as well as do some more reading of African authors. True to my word, I reviewed Distant View Of A Minaret by Alifa Rifaat (Africa Reading Challenge) though I am yet to review Nicholas II, last of the Tsars by Marc Ferro. This will be done shortly. I read and reviewed Enemy Within by Steve Jacobs for the Back To The Classics Challenge. I couldn’t read as many books as I would have loved to, mainly because of extra activities that I would not bore you with.

Statistics There was a marginal difference in my statistics for the Challenges for the month of May.

Africa Reading Challenge:            2/5

Back to the Classics Challenge:   2/9

The Classics Club:                        0/51

2012 Reading Challenge:            1/50  (This is something I’m doing for myself, to read as many books as I can for 2012, outside, the three challenges I’ve signd up for.)

 

Blogging Even, though I scored low on reviews, I blogged more making new online friends with similar interests and sharing information here and there. (what else is new?) I twittered a little as well.

Book Acquisitions. I didn’t buy any books this month, but received the following two as gifts from a colleague at work, Farouk, who had been holidaying in the UK:

* Girl 4, and The Two by Will Carver. These two are the authors attempts at the thriller genre, with Girl 4 being his first. Looking forward to reading them.

I also made a special request from a cousin in the US, Yvonne, who got me Kevin’s Last Walk, A Father’s Final Journey With His Son by Barry Adkins. I had heard so much or rather read so much of this harrowing non-fiction on twitter and decided to get it for my son and then read and review it after he’s finished with it

Darko Reading Relay Ha! For the second time, I was one of the recipients of the Reading Relay organised by logo-ligi, this time, the Darko Reading Relay; I won myself a copy of Faceless by Amma Darko. (To be reviewed as soon as I’m done reading) Thank you, Kwadwo. I’ll be coming for more. (Olivera)

Awards:  The month of May was a month for the awards and I couldn’t believe it when they kept pouring in. All I can say is that I’m so grateful to my fellow bloggers who nominated me for the awards. It’s so heartening when you’re appreciated for little things. Many thanks, my friends:

* Versatile Blogger Award (8/5/12) from Boomie Bol,

* Sunshine Award (my second) (21/5/12) from Boomie Bol,

* Tell Me about Yourself Award 30/5/12 from Boomie Bol,

* The Commentator Award 31/5/12 from aquaturtleme

Hello June

This month, I will take things easy as I am so loaded at work and see how my readings go. I’ve lined up the following to read though:

Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison (Currently reading)

Chaka the Zulu by Thomas Mofolo

The Joys of Motherhood by Buchi Emecheta (TBR pile)

Faceless by Amma Darko (TBR pile)

Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy

Wish me luck! Ciao!

