Tags

Flashback on August

I must confess that August did not favour me at all. Or maybe I did not favour August. Whichever way you look at it, I was not able to accomplish much, especially with my readings and reviews. There were days when my muse just refused to pipe up and there were those days that I just slept on and on at home, not getting up the energy or enthusiasm for my reading. Ha! You’ve got to wake up girl! Your Challenges are suffering terribly!

Friday Fictioneers: My participation in the Friday Fictioneers during the month of August was also haphazard, due to my continuous involvement in a USAID sponsored project which sees me busy most Fridays. As a result, I could only do three (2) issues of 100 words based on the respective prompts. Harmattan Rain, Light on the Hill and Withered Flower. (I did try. 🙂 )

Playing at Poetry: Just like July, I played around and wrote six (6) poems in August; Motherhood, Muse In Limbo, Inflated Fatherhood, A Blight On My Memory, I Belong and I Have Him.

Books Reviewed:  I reviewed only two books, out of the four (4)  I had lined up; and also reviewed two short stories for my Short Story Tuesday slot all detailed below:

  • Chaka the Zulu by Thomas Mofolo
  • Faceless by Amma Darko.
  • Woman From America by Bessie Head (from her anthology Tales of Tenderness and Power)
  • The Girl With The Twisted Future by Mia Cuoto (from the anthology Voices Made Night)

Statistics: There was only a marginal shift in the statistics for the various Challenges and TBR; an upward shift of one (1) in the Classics Club, The African Reading Challenge and the TBR list respectively.

  • Africa Reading Challenge:            3/5
  • Back to the Classics Challenge:   2/9
  • The Classics Club:                        2/51
  • 2012 Reading Challenge (TBR):    5/50
  • Ayebia Clarke Reading Challenge  0

Blogging:  This continues unabated. I made some new online friends through the blog, twitter and Facebook.

Awards:  I was honoured with five (5) lovely awards from my wonderful blogger friends as follows:

A big thanks to you all, straight from my heart.  Do pop in over there and sample their wonderful posts.

Book Wins: In August, I won two books as follows:

  •  Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy in the Classics Giveaway Contest organised by a fellow Classic Clubber, Meredith.
  • The Playboy Baby, a romance novel written by Joanne Stewart  in a Blog Tour organised by Empi Baryeh.

Classics Club: This August, the Classic Club was given a new lease on life thanks to Clubbers like Heather, Sarah, Jillian, Allie, Melissa and Adam. As a fellow Clubber, I am keenly participating in all activities lined up and I’ve kick-started this with my post on the August Meme.

Hello September

The good news is that I have joined the September Haiku Heights. Yes, me, and I have now become a Haiku addict, doing my best to impress with my humble offering! 🙂

On the books front, Hm, just wish me luck, guys, with the line-up below: (a few carry-overs from August; really it looks like these are carry-overs from way back in June. Ha ha ha!).

  •  Not Without Flowers by Amma Darko
  • Nicholas II, last of the Tsars by Marc Ferro
  • Kevin’s Last Walk, A Father’s Final Journey With His Son by Barry Adkins.
  • The Secret To Detoxifying Your Life And Love by Mariska Taylor-Darko (A special request from a friend to be read for review)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Husseni
  • Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy

Upcoming Reviews:

  • Not Without Flowers by Amma Darko
  • Nicholas II, last of the Tsars by Marc Ferro

Shalom!

