Tags

This month, the question over at The Classics Club is as follows:

What classic piece of literature most intimidates you, and why? (Or, are you intimidated by the classics, and why? And has your view changed at all since you joined our club?)

I’ve been reading the Classics as far back as I can remember in the more traditional well-known genres of prose, drama and poetry, both in the abridged and un-abridged versions at various stages of my life. So, I guess, this has helped me, to a large extent in rendering the Classics much less intimidating, if at all I did find them so. I dare say, that since joining the Club, I’ve come across a lot of Classics that I’ve never read and I’m looking forward to reading some of these.

RebeccaAdmittedly, looking at my list, Dracula by Bram Stoker may be a daunting read. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy which I recently won in a Book Give Away is one I’m looking forward to reading, volume notwithstanding. I’m also eager to read Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. Currently, I’m reading Tess of the D’Urbervilles, by Thomas Hardy (the eNotated version) which, much to my delightful surprise I find captivating; Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson (Kindle version and a re-read) is also another Classic that I’m reading concurrently and I’m loving it, very excited at the familiar characters and scenes.

I would say that the length of the Classics on my list might put me off more than the genre or form. I say this because I may not have the luxury of time to read tomes when there are so many other books clamouring for my attention, in addition to juggling office work and the home. The language might also make me hesitate in selecting a Classic to read, especially the plays. But this is a minor factor that should not scare a lover of books. And who knows, I just might read those tomes if I put my mind to it. πŸ™‚

