Today is exactly one week since my father passed away. He is at rest now from all his toils and pains. I pray the good Lord to keep his soul even as we mourn him and grieve.

In the Akan tradition to which he belonged, the one week of his passing would have been celebrated just like a funeral; with much wailing, drumming and dancing and with much pomp and everybody would be in black and red funeral cloth. However, because he was a chief of his hometown, the one-week celebration would not come on at all. Instead, the funeral preparations will take place from March 2013 with the official announcement of his death. Yes, you guessed right. He will not be buried until after then.

Deeply Felt Appreciation

I take this opportunity to say a big thank you to all my wonderful sisters and brothers out there whose outpouring of love, support, sympathy and condolence expressed to me are so overwhelming that I am just numb with disbelief. I commented that even in my country here, such show of wonderful love is lacking maybe because I have kept a strong facade. Indeed, I feel humbled and yes blessed to have met such lovely people and on-line at that, where geographical barriers melt away to make us one big supportive family. I am stunned. And I can only wish you all of you many many blessings and the very best in all that you endeavour to do. I am truly grateful to each and every one of you and appreciative of all your beautiful and heartfelt comments. πŸ™‚ God richly bless each and every one of you. πŸ™‚

As we say in Ghana, if at dawn you hear the cock crowing in your yard or garden or on your farm, know that it is Celestine and her family expressing their appreciation for your awesome love.

I also wish all my wonderful friends in the US a very relaxing and Happy Thanksgiving. May your weekend be lovely and and full of fun. πŸ™‚

Now, here is a poem I wrote without editing.

Emotional Cripple

I wish to weep for you
With the tears of love
That you stifled so
Β 
I wish to cry for you
With the once sweet voice
Of a child’s innocent chatter
Β 
Alas, the tears
Dried up long ago
Leaving only smudges
Like the mud-caked pebbles
Found on the bed
Of a dried up river
Β 
And that
Child-like voice
Broke to become
Your accuser
Β 
Yet in my heart
Is the love
That I have always
Had for you
Overflowing with
Mixed echoes
Of cherished
Moments with you
Interspersed with
Confused lunacy
That has me
Adrift and
Emotionally crippled
Even now
Β 
I forgive you, Daddy
Rest in Peace.
You have my love
Β 
Β 
Β 
Copyright Β© Celestine Nudanu
23/11/12

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I appreciate your patience with me as I catch up on your blogs. Thanks a million! Shalom

